Skip to content

This Is My Brain on Kevin Costner

August 14, 2010

After tallying my list of Disney scenes that tickled the sadist and dominant in me as a kid, I started thinking of other movies, and two that immediately came to mind incidentally both featured Kevin Costner. Then the list kept getting bigger.

  • Dances With Wolves – When I was around three, I remember walking in on my dad watching Dances With Wolves at the moment Kevin Costner meets Stands With a Fist. I stopped, and I stared. “Why is she doing that?” I asked, or something like that. My dad said, “Her husband was just killed, and she’s very sad.” The image stuck in my head is that she was cutting the skin off her arms. I don’t actually know if that’s what she was doing, or if she was just generally cutting herself, but that was what stuck with me. I remember very distinctly being both disturbed and fascinated. Yet again, it’s an image that showed up continually in my fantasies growing up.
  • Willow – Madmartigan in a cage, and then getting dragged half-naked behind a woman’s horse??? FUCK. YES. And then there was a bunch of pain involved in all the magical transformation.
  • Star Wars: Empire Strikes Back – Han getting tortured. Oh my god. And Luke getting his hand cut off and looking all wan and sweaty.
  • Star Wars: Return of the Jedi – Okay, I have to admit. Leia chained up in skimpy clothes. Also I always dug the chick with head tentacles who was the previous slave dancer.
  • Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves – The scene where Will Scarlet is hanging from the dungeon ceiling with his chest all sliced up, the scene where it’s discovered he was tortured, and then at the end during the gallows scene he gets tied to a barrel and nearly beheaded. I still get off on the idea of guy tied in that position. I would also fantasize about torturing the Sheriff of Nottingham, because he was a bad guy, so it was obviously okay. (Skip to 2:12 for bondage and hanging).
  • The Princess Bride — The MACHINE. Suction cups. Strapping someone to a table. Whimpering. Screaming. It is perfect. Except that it sucks that Wesley is now only going to live to middle age.
  • James Bond: The World is Not Enough – The neck breaking chair! I fast forwarded just to watch this part SO MANY TIMES. At least until I started really getting into the shame as a teenager and would feel like I was so sick for wanting to see it over and over again. Yet another example of a sadistic woman being a bad guy and bat-shit-insane. I would rather I’d had more positive archetypes.
  • Avatar – Does anybody else want to try out the bondage when Jake and scientist-lady are tied up? Also, the scene where Neytiri is holding Jake, and she’s physically bigger than him, and he is completely vulnerable, was incredibly powerful for me.
  • Robin Hood – In the most recent Robin Hood movie (which I poisoned my brain with), there’s a scene where they’re all in the stocks, and talking about getting branded and flogged, and I was like YES. And then they escaped, and I was sad.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 2:43 am

    Ah, memories, memories … *grin*

  2. ranat permalink*
    August 24, 2010 11:33 am

    Oh indeed. They’re pretty nice-feeling memories, most of them (with the exception of the James Bond one, since that’s when I started really emotionally beating up on myself about the sadism).

Leave a Reply

